par lia ment #AtoZchallenge

I could have written about Peterborough, about the wonderful cathedral, about how I got followed by the turtle sanctuary (the one in another Peterborough) about how there are many Peterborough’s in the world.  About how I live in a lovely little house with a fab garden on an industrial estate.. (very surreal).  However, that word’s not in my dictionary and there’s another place I love and wanted to write about more.  Parliament!

Ok.. got you going?  You probably guessed by the pic.. Here’s my homage to big ben.  I’m sure I’d get around to blogging about him one day and I will make no apologies when I do so again.  What can I say, I do love big ben, can’t help it.  They’ve changed the walls around the tube but there was a time when you came out of Westminster station and I’m sure you could touch the walls then look up and realise you were touching him.

That might just be a dreamed memory.  I do like taking people out of the tube that way as it is amazing how close you are without realising it’s him immediately.  Regardless of what you feel about history or parliament or anything else it is a wonderful landmark and is just stunning to be near.  It’s weird how buildings can take on a life of their own.

Is this me being sentimental?

par lia ment

‘Council or congress that is the highest law-making body of a country.’

now take the time to visit more AtoZchallenge blogs

12 thoughts on “par lia ment #AtoZchallenge

    • Glad my feelings come through. It’s weird how we can humanise a building, yet with the amount of emotion that’s locked up in every brick it’s not surprising. What can I say? I love him! 😉

  1. There is something very compelling about this post. The way you described almost touching Big Ben. Your adoration of the Big guy! From a A to Z blogger who lives in Canada’s Capitol city I get the it. Par lia ment.

  2. I love this post and it brought back memories of stepping out of that station and being totally over-awed by Big Ben. I’m also fascinated by the detail on the entire parliament building. It’s truly amazing and it’s a shame that we take it all for granted. We have many wonderful buildings in this country. People should stop and look up a bit more often.

    • Although I do try and enjoy the architecture I did once just stop and stare at the rest of parliament only to be amazed by the creatures that adorn it. That whole part of london has so much to look at many don’t notice it. But we do and that’s all that counts!! 😉

  3. I love the almost dreamy way you describe this and the picture adds to the atmosphere. Nice counterpoint to the actual enormous solidity of that building. Glad too to know that its fame is such that you do not need to explain what it is!

    • All deliberately planned of course.. 😉 Tee hee.. It never even occurred to me to explain who he is.. Yes I could easily dream about him. His location means he’s seen from lots of vantage points which adds to his presence. He’s so beautifully dressed with gold highlighting his best features that he looks gorgeous from anywhere.

  4. Big Ben figures in so many works of fiction— though I’ve never seen it in real life, I feel like I have 🙂

    Hope you’re enjoying the challenge so far!
    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

    • Thanks for stopping by Damyanti. It’s going great for me now. Only 3 to schedule. 2 of those already drafted. I hope you’re coping as you’re doing an amazing job visiting and supporting as many as you are. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

