Y is for Yellow #AtoZChallenge

Over the years, for Y, I’ve used yachtsmanship; Yellow car; Yes; Yellow benches; Yellow fruit and vegetables; Yellow celandines; Years and ‘Yellow and young’. I was hoping I’d not used years and was going to say I’ve used Yellow for years which I have but I was just going to go with yellow today.

The illustration’s got a yellow buggy in it. I have no idea if the actual buggy was yellow as it looks rather brighter than they usually do and I’d have coloured this in afterwards, not while I was in situ.

Most of my illustrations, these days, are finished later when the scene’s no longer in front of me and I have my notes or memory to decide what colours I should use. Yellow reminds me of spring with many of our spring flowers being yellow. Yellow Cowslip flowers in the UK are looking amazing, no there’s none in this image they’re on my mind that’s all. We’re in spring and Yellow, to me, is a spring colour.

Next year I must remember the colours as I think I’d find it easier to pick illustrations by colour. I’d still struggle with the Q, X and Z. Talking of Z it’s almost upon us and looking through the Y’s I’ve used has also shown me the Z’s I’ve used and the one I’ve picked has been used before. You don’t mind that do you. I have a different take on the same word.

See you tomorrow for the end of the alphabet.

My theme for A to Z Blogging Challenge is ‘Lynne’s illustrations’ because I don’t think I’ve got enough finished for ‘Bench Views again…’ illustrations done from benches in and around Peterborough UK which I started in 2014. It’s ten years since I sat on a bench and did my first bench view and I thought that needed celebrating. A-Z was where I posted some of my first illustrations which gave me more confidence in drawing out and around town.

My latest series ‘Bench Views third time lucky’ started in 2023, is taking longer than the others as I started early and might finish late.. but it’s my series so there’s no ‘rules’.

This is one of many blogs doing this challenge. Take a look at what others are doing at AtoZ Blogging Challenge blog links.

3 thoughts on “Y is for Yellow #AtoZChallenge

  1. Hi Lynne, I followed your drawings when you did the A to z a few years ago and just realised you were here again this year. Have you ever thought about doing children’s book illustration, I think your pictures have a ‘Quentin Blake’ kind of quality to them.

    • Hi Martine, thanks for popping by. Yes I have thought of children’s books and there are so many other things I need to do too. I’ll take the link with Quentin. Thankfully I’d not seen many of his drawings before I created my style and our inspiration and method is very different but I love it each time I’m mentioned as being anything near Quentins work. Isn’t he amazing.

Leave a comment