Z is for in the Zoned #AtoZChallenge

I’ve used zone before and i’ve used images of Gaia and the moon in Peterborough cathedral. Other Z’s I’ve used are Zoological (A friend suggested I use that again this year, or zoologist); zodiac; zebra-like; zombie walk; zucchini; zen or zany; zigzag; zone.

Drat, I’ve used zone before and this is a letter I seem to have managed to find different words for each year. I didn’t mind reusing yellow for y as I’d used it for years, tee hee, I wanted to use that sentence for yesterday, hey, I love that idea of using yesterdays illustration for the following day.

If I change the word now I might have to change the image though we’ve had a chat about it being my blog. Let’s have a look at the dictionary I used for my first AtoZ blog posts. Zonal or zoned. The cathedral is zoned, I drew this from the Nave, you can see the wooden carvings of the choir and the installation of the earth is between the north and south transept under the central tower. Beyond is the high alter.

All I had to do was add a d to zone and the illustration didn’t need to be changed so you’re not having to wonder what illustration you’ve missed.

And breathe, we’re done and dusted for another year. My first AtoZChallenge was 2012 I’ve missed four years since 2018 and this was my ninth year. Each time it’s different. oops it sounds like I’m beginning to write my post challenge post. For now i’ll say thanks to those who joined me along the way this year. Particularly to the helpers and organisers for keeping this and us going and to everyone who’s read any of my words. I hope you’ve got a small morsel from them.

My theme for A to Z Blogging Challenge is ‘Lynne’s illustrations’ because I don’t think I’ve got enough finished for ‘Bench Views again…’ illustrations done from benches in and around Peterborough UK which I started in 2014. It’s ten years since I sat on a bench and did my first bench view and I thought that needed celebrating. A-Z was where I posted some of my first illustrations which gave me more confidence in drawing out and around town.

My latest series ‘Bench Views third time lucky’ started in 2023, is taking longer than the others as I started early and might finish late.. but it’s my series so there’s no ‘rules’.

This is one of many blogs doing this challenge. Take a look at what others are doing at AtoZ Blogging Challenge blog links.

9 thoughts on “Z is for in the Zoned #AtoZChallenge

    • Thanks Jemima. Same to you. say hi to locksley and thank him for popping by to keep me going. You have a lot going on, well done on this years AtoZ.

      Must replace my acrylic inks and get more illustrations finished. Thanks for all your support.

  1. Well done, Lynne! It was my ninth year doing the Challenge, too, with a few years in which I missed or didn’t finish. I enjoyed and was inspired by your illustrations. Sorry I visited erratically.

    • Hi, We visit as often as we can and some years it’s more than others isn’t it. We participated, managed to turn up and, this year, got to the end. If we inspired one person along the way well done us!

      • and another thing..

        This year we were each, one of 217 people across the world who did this challenge duirng April! Well done us times 217!!! 😉

Leave a comment