Vegetables #AtoZChallenge

Last year my whole blog was about vegetables that I’d drawn. This year it’s been about my garden so vegetables appear again.

I’d always wanted an allotment, I’m not that disciplined and know I’d struggle to keep it up. Thankfully I don’t need one, my garden has it’s own vegetable beds and greenhouse to grow the plants in.

A2Z Vegetables I have grown

It’s 26 April and I would expect to have fully functioning veg beds by now. I’ve had a year or two off from growing any vegetables because the garden got a bit out of hand but I’m on top of it and thought I’d be able to show you all my hard work. Well I can, sort of. Some of these pics are of the vegetables I’ve grown here in previous years and some of my aspiring plants for this year.

028

There’s all the cuttings ready to go to the tip. I’ve not managed to get it there though and although we do have a brown bin collection for garden waste you have to pay for it and since I didn’t do any gardening last year I’d not paid for this years which doesn’t finish till week commencing 15 May. I would have paid for it for April but only realised after last years payments finished on 28 February. How confusing.

My garden rubbish is piling up and will keep doing so till the end of May unless I manage to get to the tip. If there wasn’t so much bramble and buddleigh seed in it I’d have tried to compost it. Oh we’ve not even talked about the demise of my wormery or my composting attempts and we’re nearly at Z. Those can wait for another year if I ever blog about the garden again.

A2Z beans growing well

This year I might have to improvise and put my veg somewhere else. It’s ready to go out but, given the chill of this week I’m glad it will be delayed. Who knows what I’ll be able to pick fresh from my garden this year. Oh the trials and tribulations of gardening..

My AtoZ Blogging Challenge is all about gardening, Lynne style.

If you’ve enjoyed reading this post why not see what others are doing too during 2017 AtoZ Blogging challenge, look in the comments on the letter of the day blog or like their facebook page. I look forward to seeing you back here tomorrow.

14 thoughts on “Vegetables #AtoZChallenge

  1. It is snowing here again today so I must scratch the garden itch with viewing others images and my few starts inside. The rubbish pile looks familiar. My neighbors are not fond of my pile of twigs and leaves but they make great mulch and compost. Thankfully mine are not so full of weed seeds at the moment, maybe a benefit of the snow?

  2. My tomato seedlings were doing well in my mini-greenhouse. I haven’t dared look at them for the past few days in case they get too cold! But you’re right, normally by now I have loads of things sprouting in the vegetable beds. This year, mostly bare (or weeds).

    • Heading town to my greenhouse now, Hope those tomato roots haven’t been too chilled. Go visit yours and bring them in for a few days if they need it. into somewhere cool though while the weather catches up. Good luck.

  3. I’m considering getting an allotment. I love gardening, but I now live high up in a loft apartment. I’ve got a flower-filled balcony but it’s not the same. Seeing your courgette picture reminds me that I haven’t eaten their flowers for a while – I love them deep fried in tempura batter. Yummy!

    Another day in Amble Bay!

  4. Pingback: Reflections #AtoZchallenge | lynnelives

Leave a comment